Out with the Old and in with the New!

screenshot_2017-01-03-00-41-53

New Year’s resolutions…

What a pain in the ass! Am I the only one who feels this way?

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have a problem with the fact that you want to set goals for yourself. My problem lies with the fact that no one ever follows trough with their ‘holy resolutions’. I’m sure most new year’s resolutions are all forgotten by the 1st of January after partying to hard.

This is why I waited a while before deciding on my resolutions. I gave myself some time to think about the previous year and what I would like to do differently this year. In doing so, I came across reasons that I think people never follow through with their resolutions and came up with a few solutions:

  • Make your resolutions achievable. You have to look at your current situation and the time you have given yourself to achieve this. Will you be able to achieve this, without exhausting yourself too much, that you can’t get to all the other important things? If not, you might want to reconsider if this is the best thing to do. I’m not saying toss it aside and forget about it, I’m saying give yourself a bit more time or scale down on whatever it is you want to do. No one likes to be disappointed, specially by themselves!
  • Let’s say your resolution is to work extra hard this year. You’ve been working hard all day, 9 to 5, you get home, you’re exhausted, but there is still a few things to be done and you said “This year I’m working hard!” Take a step back. If you are satisfied with what you have done for the day and what’s still to do can wait, get into a nice bubble bath, have a cup of tea and just chill! YOU CAN’T BE TO HARD ON YOURSELF. People burn out from that shit!
  • Having a little lack of motivation? I have a simple solution that worked for me in the past and that I know will work for me in the future. GET A BUDDY! Ask someone who you know loves to do whatever it is you are willing to do and start doing it together. The best part, is that this buddy can be either human or animal, depending on your resolution! Say one of your resolutions is to exercise more this year and you just can’t get to do it. Either ask someone to join you to the gym, or get a dog and go for a jog!
  • Last, but definitely not least, focus on having the right mind-set! Having a positive mind-set will give you the power to achieve anything you set your mind to. Train your mind to see the good and positive in every situation. Yes, it is easier said than done, but I’m sure once you get a hang of it, you’ll be struggling to see the negative!

There you have it. The best advice that I can give to hopefully help you achieve your 2017 resolutions. I hope you’re all as excited as I am about this year and following through with everything I set my mind to. My main goal this year is to reach the 31st of December, look back and be proud of myself for all that I’ve achieved.


Feel free to leave a reply and let me know what your New Year’s resolutions are.

Leave a Reply

